To celebrate the 90th anniversary of the founding of the Band, the Sandvikens Ungdomskorps has commissioned a Suite called PANORAMA from the distinguished composer Torstein Aagaard-Nilsen with support from the Norwegian Council. The work will be in three sections, parts one and three each in three movements with a central movement, lasting about thirty minutes.

The composer writes:

SUK belongs to Bergen, so I decided that each movement should be inspired by - albeit only loosely - their own mountains. Bergen is surrounded by seven mountains and SUK practice in the shelter of the seventh, Sandviksfjellet. Because the work does not aim to portray every mountain, the movements have got their own titles:

Part 1

1. Night Ritual

There is no proof, but it is believed that Lyderhorn is the place where witches and other scary people gather at night.

2. Dawn

If you choose to spend the night on Lyderhorn, you may be enjoyed by sunrise on the Damsgård mountain.

3. Blooming

Løvstakken - a mountain, flowery, leafy.

Part 2

4. Hymnus

Ulriken or Alrekr of old, means the powerful.

Part 3

5. A flirt or a dream

Fløyfjellet suitable for both flirty and a drowsy afternoon where the experience of what one actually experiences can be unclear.

6. Scenery

When on Lap Manen outlook will witness something breathtaking, contemporary which repeats the horizon. Landscape variation lies in the viewer's ability to experience it.

7. Celebration

On Sandviksfjellet it is natural to imagine a celebration this time, both the fact that the tour ends here and a sweep of the ring celebrating SUK!

I might mention that every mountain's height meters (above sea level, according to the map) has provided inputs to valuable pitches I've used along the way. I have yet to conquer the seven mountains of writing, but in SUK's centennial in 2013 will happen!

Torstein Aagaard-Nilsen

Aagaard-Nilsen is one of the most prominent composers for brass and wind bands in Scandinavia today.