• The 112th Regular Concert
  • Monday, 15 October, 2012, 19:00
  • Venue: Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre
  • Conductor: Paul Meyer, Principal Conductor
  • Program:
  • Ravel: Boléro
  • Dukas: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
  • Masahiro Yamauchi: A composition commissioned by TKWO
  • and other works
  • The new composition by Masahiro Yamauchi, winner of the first prize in the second TKWO Composition Competition, in 2009, was commissioned by TKWO.

  • The 113th Regular Concert
  • Saturday, 1 December, 2012, 17:00
  • Venue: Tokyo Opera City Concert Hall
  • Conductor: Norichika Iimori
  • Program
  • Stravinsky: The Firebird (1919 version)
  • Respighi: Belkis, regina di Saba
  • Mamoru Samuragouchi: A composition commissioned by TKWO

  • The 114th Regular Concert
  • Friday, 22 February, 2013, 19:00
  • Venue: Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre
  • Conductor: Seikyo Kim
  • Program
  • Dai Fujikura:A work jointly commissioned by TKWO and DePaul University
  • Richard Strauss: Salome––Dance of the Seven Veils and DonJuan
  • and other works
  • Program Notes
  • Seikyo Kim last conducted TKWO in February 2012, for a performance of Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé. The first half of this program consists mainly of original works for wind orchestra, including one commissioned from the new, powerful composer Dai Fujikura, who has attracted considerable attention in the international music world.

      • The 115th Regular Concert
      • Saturday, 27 April, 2013, 17:00
      • Venue: Tokyo Metropolitan Theatre
      • Conductor: Radomil Eliška
      • Program
      • Dvořák: Carnival Overture; Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”
      • Janácek: Sinfonietta (Takashi Ueno edition)
      • Program Notes
      • Radomil Eliška, a disciple of Janácek’s disciple Břetislav Bakala, is president of the Czech Dvořák Association.
      • He will conduct a wind orchestra for the first time in an endeavor to show Dvořák’s true worth through wind instruments.
      • This concert will be the experience of a lifetime. This season of TKWO will climax with Sinfonietta performed by a conductor who studied it under the composer’s disciple.

        • I have managed to track down news of the final of the second competition held under the auspices of the TKWO. In the final concert, September 4th 2009, Keiko Kobayashi conducted five pieces, shortlisted out of an initial entry of 38 compositions.

          Dialectics Brian Harman Canada
          Grande Arabesque Yasutaki Inamori Japan
          De Causis – The Order of Chaos Francisco Fort Spain
          Notturno Tatsuya Hirano Japan
          Sora-no-Toki Masahiro Yamauchi Japan

          Prizes were awarded as follows:

          Sora-no-Toki First Prize
          De Causis – The Order of Chaos Second Prize
          Grande Arabesque for Symphonic Band Third Prize
          Notturno for Wind Orchestra Jury Special Prize
          De Causis – The Order of Chaos Frederick Fennell Special Prize

          Barnaby Hollington, winner of second prize in the first TKWO Competition in 2006 with his work