Venue: RNCM Concert Hall, Manchester
Date: Saturday 9 March 2013 7:30pm

Guy Woolfenden Gallimaufry
Adam Gorb New work (world première)
Thea Musgrave Journey through a Japanese Landscape
Kenneth Hesketh Autumn’s Elegy (world première)
Edwin Roxburgh Elegy for Ur
Richard Rodney Bennett Trumpet Concerto

Clark Rundell, Mark Heron, Tim Reynish conductors
Simone Rebello percussion
Paul Goodey oboe
John Miller trumpet

It is good to be back conducting at the RNCM and celebrating my birthday as well as the thirtieth anniversary of the first BASBWE Commission, Gallimaufry by my best man, Guy Woolfenden. There will be two world premieres in the concert, a new work by Adam Gorb, who says that he wanders around the house waiting for inspiration, and a work entitled Autumn’s Elegy, a transcription of the second movement of a youthful symphony by Kenneth Hesketh. The first movement is Masque and Paul Hindmarsh who has led the formation of the consortium hopes that the result will be a complete Symphony for Wind Ensemble.

Since 1993, I have commissioned or premiered nearly one hundred works for wind ensemble, and Clark Rundell and Mark Heron have selected three works to conduct, Edwin Roxburgh’s poignant An Elegy for Ur for solo oboe and ensemble, Thea Musgrave’s evocative Journey through a Japanese Landscape for marimba and ensemble, and the Bennett Trumpet Concerto which will sadly be in memoriam of the great composer.