Frederick Fennell Prize Winner Announced

Joshua Hummel Wins $5000 Frederick Fennell Prize in Competition for Young Composers of Concert Band Music with "Haiku Symphony No. 4" (2010)

Duration: 5 '30, Published by Sinensis Music


2 Fl, 2 Ob, 3 Cl, 1, 2 Bsn, Sop.Ten.Bar Sax,
3 Tpt, 4 Hn, 3 Trb, 1 Euph, 1 Tba,
Timp. + 3 Perc: glock , sus cymb., marim, 2 congas, 2 bongos, sand shaker

Program Note:

the sun is awake,
dandelions lift their heads
in celebration

Haiku Symphony No. 4 is a powerhouse of threes, fives, sevens, and seventeens. These numbers are derived from the formal literary components of a traditional English haiku: three lines of poetry, two lines of five syllables surrounding one line of seven, and seventeen syllables in all. Haiku 4 works these elements into a bit of a romp that reminds one of sunshine, fragrant flowers, endless childhood memories, the beauty of a summer day. All we need is to take the wind ensemble to a verdant meadow, put dandelions in their hair

Joshua Hummel

Joshua Hummel

New York, NY, December 9, 2010: Frances Richard, Vice President and Director of Concert Music of ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) and Thomas C. Duffy, President of CBDNA (College Band Directors National Association), today jointly announced the fifth bi-annual ASCAP/CBDNA Frederick Fennell Prize winner. The competition, named for Frederick Fennell, ASCAP member and past President of CBDNA, was established to encourage gifted American composers who create new works for Concert Band. The winning work was selected via a juried national competition, which attracted submissions from eligible composers (between the ages of 18 and 30) from across the United States.

The $5000 Prize, for a wind ensemble work, has been awarded to Joshua Hummel, age 30, for "Haiku Symphony No. 4." The award winning work will be performed during the National CBDNA Conference at the University of Washington in Seattle, March 21 - 26, 2011.

"CBDNA is proud of this partnership with ASCAP, which commemorates the legacy of Frederick Fennell by cultivating and promoting new repertoire for the concert band. The Frederick Fennell Prize singles out the most talented composers writing for the wind band today, and introduces their music to music directors across the country."Thomas C. Duffy